Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2013 Annual Meeting of the Medieval Academy of America

The 2013 Annual Meeting of the Medieval Academy of America will be held April 4–6, 2013 at the Hilton Knoxville in downtown Knoxville, Tennessee, which is in the heart of the Tennessee Valley, at the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and down the street from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The meeting will be hosted by the University of Tennessee, the UT Marco Institute for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and the Sewanee Medieval Colloquium.

This year’s meeting will feature nearly sixty sessions from a wide range of disciplines and methodologies. Plenary speakers will include Christopher de Hamel (Corpus Christi College, Cambridge), Jan Ziolkowski (Harvard University), and MAA President Maryanne Kowaleski (Fordham University). This year’s CARA session will be chaired by Patrick J. Geary (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) and will focus on the topic, “A New Age of Exploration: Scholars and Digitized Manuscripts.” Participants will include Wolfgang-Valentin Ikas (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek), Charlotte Denoël (Bibliothèque Nationale de France), Fr. Columba Stewart (Hill Museum and Manuscript Library) and William Stoneman (Harvard University).

All sessions, lectures, meetings, and the reception and banquet on Friday evening will be held at the Hilton in downtown Knoxville. The opening reception will be held at the Knoxville Museum of Art, a five-minute walk from the Hilton. The closing reception will be held at the Sunsphere, which was designed for the 1982 World’s Fair and offers striking views of the city and its surroundings. It too is a short walk from the hotel.

Graduate Student Prizes

The MAA will award up to seven prizes of $300 each to graduate students for papers judged meritorious by the local committee. To be eligible for an award, graduate students must be MAA members and, once proposed papers have been accepted for inclusion in the program, must submit complete papers to the Program Committee no later than February 1, 2013. Submissions should be sent to Program Chair Jay Rubenstein at

Program Committee

Jay Rubenstein, chair (University of Tennessee); Thomas Burman (University of Tennessee); William Caferro (Vanderbilt University); Laura Cochrane (Middle Tennessee State University); Mary Dzon (University of Tennessee); Abigail Firey (University of Kentucky); Matthew Giancarlo (University of Kentucky); Rachel Golden (University of Tennessee); Laura Howes (University of Tennessee); Matthew Irvin (University of the South); Roy Liuzza (University of Tennessee); Amy Neff (University of Tennessee); Lynn Ramey (Vanderbilt University); Irven Resnick (University of Tennessee, Chattannooga); Susan Ridyard (University of the South); and Kathryn Salzer (The Pennylvania State University).

Local Arrangements Committee

Heather Hirschfeld, chair (University of Tennessee), Winston Black (University of Tennessee), Laura Howes (University of Tennessee), Gregor Kalas (University of Tennessee), and Vera Pantanizopoulos-Broux (University of Tennessee).

For additional details, please contact us either by phone at 865-974-1859 or email at We look forward to welcoming the Medieval Academy of America to Knoxville in April!