Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Anne Marie Van Hook Memorial Travel Fellowship


The Anne Marie Van Hook Memorial Travel Fellowship provides one graduate student per year with an award of $5,000 to fund archival, library, or archaeological research abroad or, in exceptional cases, within North America. The recipient will be an ABD graduate student working in a Marco field.


  • Current and Past Recipients


    Alexandra Garnhart-Bushakra (History), “If Life Were Verse: Rhetoric and Remembrance of the First Crusaders”


    Brittany Poe (History), “Beyond Paris: Alan of Lille and the Reception of Scholasticism in Iberia and Occitania”


    Bradley Phillis (History), “Crusade, Reform, and the Counts of Flanders, 1071-1204”


    Jeremy Pearson (History), “William of Tripoli and his Middle-Eastern Context”


    Katie Hodges-Kluck (History), “The Matter of Jerusalem: The Holy Land in Angevin Court Culture and Identity, c. 1154-1216”


    Scott Bevill (English), “The Lost Books of Antiquity: Antiquarianism and Identity in Early Modern England”


    Geoff Martin (History), “Mozarab Readers of the Bible, 10th-12th Centuries”


    Leah Giamalva (History), “Christian Responses to the Historico-Theological Problem of Islam’s Ascendancy and Christendom’s Dejection, 1291-1460″


    Gina Cash (History), Scottish history, women in the law courts of 16th-century Scotland.


    Miguel Gomez (History), “The Battle of Las Navas de Tolosa: The Culture and Practice of Crusading in Medieval Iberia”

Information for Applicants for the 2019 Fellowship

A curriculum vitae, research plan, budget, and two letters of support, one from the dissertation supervisor, should be submitted electronically to Marco’s Program Coordinator ( by February 15, 2019. The research plan should explain how the proposed travel enhances the applicant’s research project, and the budget should indicate the rough percentage of costs associated with different aspects of the research plan. Review of applications will be undertaken by the Institute’s standing Awards Committee and the results will be announced in March 2019.